Brandon Birdsell

LUBBOCK, Texas – The Red Raider duo of Brandon Birdsell and Jace Jung have once again been recognized with all-America honors as the 2022 American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-America teams were announced on Friday. Birdsell and Jung were named to the ABCA All-Central Region first team on Wednesday, which made both candidates for ABCA All-America honors.


Birdsell picked up the distinction of being named an ABCA second-team All-American. Meanwhile, Jung is a repeat ABCA All-America honoree, taking home third-team honors for the second consecutive season.


The announcement marks the ninth and 10th all-America awards, respectively, for Texas Tech following the 2022 season with the Birdsell and Jung duo being an integral part of that.


It is Jung's fifth All-America honor in 2022, which includes academic All-America honors. For Birdsell, it is his third All-America honor of 2022, and third career.


To view the entire 2022 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-America teams, visit

About the ABCA

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 13,000 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth.


2022 Texas Tech All-America Accolades

Brandon Birdsell – Collegiate Baseball Second Team

Brandon Birdsell – ABCA Second Team

Brandon Birdsell – Perfect Game Third Team

Jace Jung – NCBWA First Team

Jace Jung – Perfect Game First Team

Jace Jung – CoSIDA Academic First Team

Jace Jung – Collegiate Baseball Second Team

Jace Jung – ABCA Third Team

Hudson White – Collegiate Baseball Freshman Team

Hudson White – Perfect Game Freshman First Team


Additional 2022 Accolades

Brandon Birdsell – ABCA All-Region First Team

Brandon Birdsell – Big 12 Pitcher of the Year

Brandon Birdsell – All-Big 12 First Team

Derek Bridges – Big 12 Honorable Mention

Ty Coleman – Big 12 Honorable Mention

Jace Jung – ABCA All-Region First Team

Jace Jung – All-Big 12 First Team

Parker Kelly – Big 12 Honorable Mention

Mason Molina – Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Andrew Morris – All-Big 12 Second Team

Easton Murrell – All-Big 12 Second Team

Cole Stilwell – All-Big 12 Second Team

Owen Washburn – Big 12 Honorable Mention

Owen Washburn – Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Hudson White – Big 12 Freshman of the Year

Hudson White – Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Kurt Wilson – All-Big 12 Second Team